Page 1 of 1

Duplicate strings across different plugins

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 12:54 pm
by Mika
So with the new web translation system the interface is neatly categorized. I did notice however that there are a lot of duplicate strings between different plugins, is there anything that can be done to streamline this, no one wants to translate same strings again.

I noticed that the system is smart enough to suggest translations from other plugin strings, but this only works if the translation is empty. If you want to modify existing translations on all plugins, you have to go through them one by one, and that's really not so fun.

A better way to translate and modify shared strings is definitely needed.

Re: Duplicate strings across different plugins

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 3:33 pm
by sameer
Hi Mika,

Yes...we had thought that the "suggestions" feature would be good enough, but
after reading your post, we realize that it isn't.

We're going to change things such that if you translate an English string, all other exact matching English strings will also be updated.
I would hope that it is very rare that identical English strings would translate differently based on the context where they are used.

I'll post back when the change has been made live.

Thanks for the post

Re: Duplicate strings across different plugins

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:21 pm
by sameer
sameer Wrote:We're going to change things such that if you translate an English string, all other exact matching English strings will also be updated.


This has been done.
If you translate a string or mark/unmark a string, or change a comment in a string, all matching strings in other files will also be updated.
The only downside is that you cant change identical strings individually any more.
If this turns out to be an issue, then let us know and we can re-think.

If you're already working in the translations tool, you'll need to reload the page for the change to take effect.

Thanks for the good suggestion Mika

Re: Duplicate strings across different plugins

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 11:20 am
by Mika
Just tested it, seems to working okay.

Of what I've seen so far, the permanent link between strings won't be a problem.

Thanks! :D