Xmarks is working

Xmarks support forums

Moderators: azitnay, admin, anatoly_LP, chantieLP, robyn, JoeSiegrist

Xmarks is working

Postby bblackmoor » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:26 pm

Xmarks appears to be working properly again. I needed to re-initialize my bookmarks by importing a local backup, uploading those to Xmarks, and then downloading those to my various browsers and computers. But once I did that, the synchronization appears to be working correctly.
bblackmoor
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:50 pm

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby jim356 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:24 am

I got excited when I saw the post that said Xmarks is working so I decided to test it. Nope, still no joy. Xmarks in FF still hangs in a permanent state of "synchronizing". Chrome at least goes through the motions but I can't tell if it's syncing or not because FF is dead.
jim356
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby bblackmoor » Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:41 pm

You need to:

1) export your bookmarks
2) in the xmarks settings, "download".
3) delete all of your current bookmarks
4) import the backed up bookmarks
5) in the xmarks settings "upload"

From that point on, you can synchronize correctly.

You will need to do this on every browser on every computer.
bblackmoor
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:50 pm

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby jim356 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:05 pm

I did that on Nov 5th but I'll try it again and post the results
jim356
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby jorge46 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:11 pm

It is working SOMETIMES. I fixed mine in past two weeks. Three or four times. Syncing breaks again after a day.

XMarks beta Version 4.5.0.3a
FireFox 56.02
Windows 10 Pro
jorge46
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby Trice » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:53 pm

bblackmoor Wrote:You need to:

1) export your bookmarks
2) in the xmarks settings, "download".
3) delete all of your current bookmarks
4) import the backed up bookmarks
5) in the xmarks settings "upload"

From that point on, you can synchronize correctly.

You will need to do this on every browser on every computer.


Does doing this 1) include the keywords and separators people build into their bookmarks, and 2) work permanently, without a future sync error messing everything up? I'm in Firefox 56 and I thought I had everything fixed by Sunday night 11/5, only to find out the next day it was not. My keywords and separators dropped out with a new bookmark set synced over the top of the old one even though I'd made no changes.
Trice
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Xmarks is working

Postby jim356 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:07 am

To bblackmoor: After trying the whole procedure on several machines and wiping everything to get back to square one, I can now say confidently that Xmarks on FF is not working. A real shame, it used to be a good product.

I'd be happy to pay for support but from what I've read here, the paid users aren't getting support either.

I can live without Xmarks but I'm really afraid of what the post-acquisition future might hold for LastPass.
jim356
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:32 am


Return to Xmarks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests