Page 1 of 1

LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:47 pm
by mert2u
I can set up my online Medicare account in Last Pass, and the user name and password entered are correct, as well as the URL for Medicare.gov. But Medicare throws up an intermediate dialog during signin, and giving it the OK directs me to the page to register for a new Medicare account, rather than directing me to my existing Medicare account. I have been unable to find a workaround. Help! :cry:

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:54 pm
by geklingel
I had the same problem. This worked for me:
After Lastpass attempts to sign you in and you end up on the “Registration” page:
• Click on “ MyMedicare.gov Login” in the upper right corner of the page.
• This should take you to the “My Medicare.gov “ page.
• Scroll down to the middle of the page and you should see the “Secure Sign In” with your username and password filled in.
• Click the blue “SIGN IN” button
Hope this works for you

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:58 pm
by geklingel
I had the same problem. This worked for me:
After Lastpass attempts to sign you in and you end up on the “Registration” page:
• Click on “ MyMedicare.gov Login” in the upper right corner of the page.
• This should take you to the “My Medicare.gov “ page.
• Scroll down to the middle of the page and you should see the “Secure Sign In” with your username and password filled in.
• Click the blue “SIGN IN” button
Hope this works for you

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:14 am
by geklingel
Had same problem... this worked for me.
After lastpass attempts to sign you in and takes you to the "registration" page
click on the "MyMedicare.gov Login" in the upper right corner of the webpage
This will open the MyMedicare.gov webpage again
Scroll down to the "Secure Sign In " area. Your Username and password should already be filled in
Click the blue "Sign IN" button.
Make any Sense?? No,but it's aGOVT Website so what can you expect?
Hope this works for you

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:26 am
by mert2u
geklingel, thanks so much for the help. It's an extra step, but it works, and that is what matters! And you got that right about what to expect from a government website. :D

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:08 pm
by wolfeworks
Sorry to reply to an old topic, but I just found it. I encountered this problem and did a little analysis of the page. The problem is that the "Sign In" button isn't really an HTML submit button at all, but rather a link with some Javascript code for the href, so LP doesn't recognize it to submit the username/password. Following it is an HTML submit button, which invokes the "Create an Account" page and that's what LP triggers. One would think that website designers would be interested in facilitating password vaults like LP instead of hindering them, but then most don't have a clue about real security features.

In any event, do any LP gurus know of a way to make LP invoke the Javascript link instead of the submit button to auto-login?

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:16 pm
by hanLP
Thanks for the addition information. I have reported this site to the team for their further investigation. Meanwhile, please manually navigate to the website, click LastPass field icon to force autofill and manually submit the login information as a workaround.

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:27 am
by hanLP
This bug has been fixed on our end. Thanks again for your reports.

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:41 pm
by asks18year
Hmm, I do not think it is fixed.

I have to goto hxxps://www.mymedicare.gov/ by typing it in the Chrome Search Bar and click on Sign In.

P.S. I did save the site using Save All Entered Data.

Re: LastPass won't work with a Medicare account

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:31 pm
by tim2k
I agree - not fixed