Page 1 of 1

Chrome Prompts To Save & Reveals Hidden Shared Passwords

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:00 pm
by nickybutler
Hi,

If you create logins in Lastpass teams and share a folder with another team user.

If that user tries to login to sites even though I have set the password to hidden, Chrome then prompts the user to then save that login and gives the option to reveal the password.

This defeats the purpose of Last Pass for my organisation so if a staff member leaves they can still know all the passwords.

Also a similar annoying issue is it appears some websites provide an icon in the password box with a eye symbol that allows you to reveal a shared but hidden password.

I want staff to be able to access sites away from work on personal devices aswell as office computers.

Cheers,

Nick

Re: Chrome Prompts To Save & Reveals Hidden Shared Passwords

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:18 am
by FlyingHawk
Hiding shared passwords is an impossible feature. It's fundamentally impossible to do it reliably.
LastPass also warns about it (although not vocal enough):
https://lastpass.com/support.php?cmd=showfaq&id=1416
https://support.logmeininc.com/lastpass ... 0007#About

Use access delegation on login systems that supports it.
If you have to share passwords, assume sharees can see shared passwords.
Change passwords when necessary.