Page 1 of 1

Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:57 am
by tbok
When I try to install lastpass, I get an error saying 'cannot connect to the internet'. I assume this is because the lastpass installer does not handle the proxy authentication used at my site. Both IE and FF have the correct proxy info set. Is there a way around this?

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:53 am
by JoeSiegrist
Can you verify that Internet Explorer works through your Proxy to lastpass.com? The lastpass.exe uses IE to go through the proxy.

Joe

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:54 pm
by JoeSiegrist
Actually a more likely cause for this would be if you had all cookies blocked in IE, which is something we're going to ask permission to disable in our next release.

Joe

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:42 am
by tbok
Proxy access works fine via IE and cookies are not blocked. I think the issue is that a userid/password is required to log on to the proxy to access the internet and this is managed on a per process basis. i.e. if I start IE and authenticate access via the proxy to the outside world, then start up FF, I will need to authenticate again within FF to get on to the internet.

Anyway I've got round the issue by cancelling the installation at the point that was failing and then setting up my account using the FF add-on.

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:41 am
by sameer
Hi tbok,

Can you tell us what type of proxy authentication is being used?
In FF: Tools->Options->Advanced->Settings button

Do you have "autodetect", "manual", or "automatic proxy configuration url" checked?

We'll retest our proxy support as well.
Thanks,
sameer

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:39 am
by knightnet
Happened to me too.

I have to use a local proxy - cntlm - so that everything is logged through the horrid Microsoft ISA proxy that I'm forced to use in my current office. This is controlled by a pac file so that the local proxy is only used if I am on the office network, not when I am at home.

I followed the suggestion of cancelling the installation and set up the account separately.

Regards, Julian
www.knightnet.org.uk
linux.knightnet.org.uk