Proxy issue during installation?

Help with the Windows installer (lastpass.exe)

Moderators: admin, anatoly_LP, chantieLP, JoeSiegrist, robyn

Proxy issue during installation?

Postby tbok » Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:57 am

When I try to install lastpass, I get an error saying 'cannot connect to the internet'. I assume this is because the lastpass installer does not handle the proxy authentication used at my site. Both IE and FF have the correct proxy info set. Is there a way around this?
tbok
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:53 am

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

Postby JoeSiegrist » Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:53 am

Can you verify that Internet Explorer works through your Proxy to lastpass.com? The lastpass.exe uses IE to go through the proxy.

Joe
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

Postby JoeSiegrist » Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:54 pm

Actually a more likely cause for this would be if you had all cookies blocked in IE, which is something we're going to ask permission to disable in our next release.

Joe
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

Postby tbok » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:42 am

Proxy access works fine via IE and cookies are not blocked. I think the issue is that a userid/password is required to log on to the proxy to access the internet and this is managed on a per process basis. i.e. if I start IE and authenticate access via the proxy to the outside world, then start up FF, I will need to authenticate again within FF to get on to the internet.

Anyway I've got round the issue by cancelling the installation at the point that was failing and then setting up my account using the FF add-on.
tbok
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:53 am

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

Postby sameer » Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:41 am

Hi tbok,

Can you tell us what type of proxy authentication is being used?
In FF: Tools->Options->Advanced->Settings button

Do you have "autodetect", "manual", or "automatic proxy configuration url" checked?

We'll retest our proxy support as well.
Thanks,
sameer
sameer
Site Admin
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Proxy issue during installation?

Postby knightnet » Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:39 am

Happened to me too.

I have to use a local proxy - cntlm - so that everything is logged through the horrid Microsoft ISA proxy that I'm forced to use in my current office. This is controlled by a pac file so that the local proxy is only used if I am on the office network, not when I am at home.

I followed the suggestion of cancelling the installation and set up the account separately.

Regards, Julian
www.knightnet.org.uk
linux.knightnet.org.uk
knightnet
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Sheffield, UK


Return to Windows Installer Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests