1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Help with the Windows installer (lastpass.exe)

Moderators: admin, anatoly_LP, chantieLP, JoeSiegrist, robyn

1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Postby erobison » Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:47 pm

None of the icons the Windows installer put on the system work to open the Vault.

You just get the error message "Windows cannot find 'https://lastpass.com/home.php'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again.

Not a promising start...
Last edited by erobison on Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
erobison
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:41 pm

Re: 1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Postby erobison » Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:50 pm

and just to follow up on my own post, if you go into Firefox's Tools > Options > Saved Passwords dialog, there are still a number of URL's and passwords in there. I though lastpass was supposed to import everything and then nuke it?

Also, a number of my URL's were corrupted on import...

- ericr
erobison
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:41 pm

Re: 1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Postby JoeSiegrist » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:08 am

We only offer to clean up what we import... we won't kill your chrome:// URLs for example. We need more details as tens of thousands have done this without issue: what's left in Firefox that you imported and told to clean up?, what URLs are mangled, how are they mangled. It's highly likely that they were mangled in your firefox store before.

Joe
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: 1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Postby erobison » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:50 pm

Since you asked for more info...

URLs left in the Firefix password manager after importing to lastpass:

https://secure.ancestry.com
http://www.blueskyfrog.com
https://nextelonline.nextel.com
http://chil.clue.com
https://www.snort.org
https://ns.clue.com

examples of URLs that were corrupted or no longer work after importing them into lastpass:

URLs that are IP addresses:
http://64.65.66.67/path/to/file was changed to http://64.65.66.67 (title of main site page) - parens included

URLs that are longer than the domain name:
http://www.foo.com/path/to/file

URLs that resolve to pages that use apaches mod_auth style authentication, which presents the user with a pop-up to fill in. I used these URLs and several of the URLs listed above shortly before I installed lastpass and imported to it, and they worked fine. After installing lastpass, I had to go into the vault and edit most of the URLs by hand to remove garbage like (title of site), add in the password, part of the URL, etc.

Since you've decided that this is all my fault for being a stupid user and your software is completely bug free and blamless, let me ask you this:

Before you import from Firefox's password manager, do you do any checks to see if the contents of the file password manager uses are corrupted or are you just hoping that the file is in perfect condition?

During the import process, do you check for duplicate URLs with different passwords, but the same userid?

During the import process, do you check that each field is properly formatted and exists?

Do you have any explanation why the icons the Windows installer put on the system don't work? You kind of ignored that question earlier...
erobison
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:41 pm

Re: 1.46 - Windows Vista 64 bit problems

Postby JoeSiegrist » Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:09 am

erobison Wrote:URLs left in the Firefix password manager after importing to lastpass: [..]


Were these urls imported into LastPass (I'd bet they weren't)? Did you select to import all accounts or did you choose which to import? If they're not in LastPass then it makes sense that they remain in your Firefox password manager as we only cleanup what we import...

erobison Wrote:examples of URLs that were corrupted or no longer work after importing them into lastpass: ...


All of these examples are basic authentication which is a limitation of the Firefox password manager: Firefox only stores the domain and the realm (in parentheses), it never stores the path. They shouldn't have imported with the parentheses into LastPass so I'll look into this, but not seeing the /path/ is expected since it's not stored by Firefox -- it wasn't corrupted or mangled, that's how it's stored, and will mean you have to fix the URLs for those sites.

erobison Wrote:Do you have any explanation why the icons the Windows installer put on the system don't work? You kind of ignored that question earlier...


Can you check the path on the shortcut (right click, properties) and see if that path exists?

Joe
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am


Return to Windows Installer Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests