LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Help with the Windows installer (lastpass.exe)

Moderators: admin, anatoly_LP, chantieLP, JoeSiegrist, robyn

LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby dluhop » Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:39 pm

There is a red bar at the top of all pages in IE 8 announcing "an updated LastPass toolbar is available". Clicking the "Install" icon does nothing. Please tell me how to install the toolbar, or how to get rid of the red bar. Thanks.
dluhop
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby JoeSiegrist » Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:53 pm

Please go here: https://lastpass.com/lastpass.exe

We're working on improving the updater in our next release as it can fail in some scenarios and then you keep seeing upgrade notices.
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby matthawes » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:34 am

I am having the same problem in IE8. However when I go to the URL and install by the exe - the installer is crashing. See my screenshot below.

Image

Thanks for your help.
-Matt
matthawes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:30 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby JoeSiegrist » Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:21 pm

Can you try this version: https://lastpass.com/lastpasspre.exe (or if using 64 bit Windows: https://lastpass.com/lastpass_x64pre.exe )
JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby matthawes » Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:44 pm

JoeSiegrist Wrote:Can you try this version: https://lastpass.com/lastpasspre.exe (or if using 64 bit Windows: https://lastpass.com/lastpass_x64pre.exe )


Joe, I have attempted to use the pre version. I get the same result. I also did an uninstall of the software, but the install program gives me an error there too. I can not uninstall in order to reinstall the program:

Image

Please let me know what steps I should take to fix this problem. I did try "repair" on the installer in add/remove programs, and I did try windows installer clean up, but it was not on the list there.

Thanks, -Matt
matthawes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:30 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby matthawes » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:27 am

Is there any chance that I can get some assistance with the install problem that I am having? The best I can do is disable the browser plugins, but I still get the error when installing. Thanks, -Matt
matthawes
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:30 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby JoeSiegrist » Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:17 am

JoeSiegrist
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:40 am

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby mgs1517 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:03 pm

I am having a similar problem with both the current and "pre" version of lastpass. I can download, install an enable the add-ons successfully, but the toolbar will not appear. Neither the lastpass button in the command toolbar or the toolbar list in the tools menu will activate the toolbar.

I am currently on Windows XP using IE 8. (Note that shutting off Webroot antivirus has no affect on the problem.)

Has anyone that's encountered this problem figured out a solution? I'm assuming it's a setting, add-on or system utillity that is causing the problem, but I have no idea which one.

Thanks!
mgs1517
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:34 pm

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby brantgurga » Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:26 am

When you right click the toolbars, is the LastPass toolbar enabled?

If it shows as enabled, check near the edge of other toolbars. It might be mostly covered by some other toolbar.
brantgurga
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:37 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Re: LastPass Toolbar in IE 8

Postby mgs1517 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:48 am

In the toolbar list, the LastPass toolbar is not checked. As I mentioned, the add-ons are enabled, but I can only tell this from the "Manage Add-ons" screen. Each time I click on the toolbar and attempt to open it, a popup asks if I would like to either enable or disable all related LastPass add-ons. Regardless of whether I do either, the toolbar is still no where to be found.

I am also experiecing another issue that one of the earlier posts described. If I attempt to open the installer or importer, I receive an error message stating that the program "encountered a problem and must close."

Any thoughts?
mgs1517
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:34 pm

Next

Return to Windows Installer Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests