Can't install on high resolution screen

Help with the Windows installer (lastpass.exe)

Moderators: admin, anatoly_LP, chantieLP, JoeSiegrist, robyn

Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby james503 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:43 am

I've just bought a new laptop (a Lenovo Yoga 900) and I can't install LastPass on it. The installer gets halfway and then appears to be asking a question or something, but I can't see what it's doing as the text has spilled out of the window. My laptop has a screen which is 3200x1800. Help! Might have to move to Dashlane.
james503
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:41 am

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby jpenny84 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:39 am

1. It could be screen scaling. Try going into your display preferences and making sure the size of your text, apps, etc is at 100%.
2. Other people have reported problems and it turned out to be a display driver problem.
jpenny84
 
Posts: 8291
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby arglebargle45441 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:33 am

Lastpass does not handle scaling correctly, its been a bug for a long time.

You have to set scaling to 100% and break out a magnifying glass to read the text, or connect it to a low resolution monitor to get it installed.

Once you have it installed you can set the scaling back to normal. If you use ie11 you have to use the full toolbar, the compact toolbar button is microscopic because of the scaling issue. But it looks normal if you use firefox.
arglebargle45441
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:57 am

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby jorge215 » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:55 pm

I am having a hard time believing this hasn't yet been addressed by LastPass. I just bought a brand new laptop with an ultra high resolution 4k display, and I am seeing the same exact thing described by the first person. The dialog boxes appear all clipped and you can't see the option buttons or the rest of the text. This NEEDS to be fixed!
jorge215
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:52 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby matthewanstey651 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 4:51 pm

Same problem here. incredibly annoying. please fix LASTPASS
matthewanstey651
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 4:50 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby jpenny84 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:13 pm

With people having this problem, try temporarily adjusting your screen scaling to 100%

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2900023

Lower the overall Windows DPI setting. To do this, open the Display item in Control Panel (or search for "dpiscaling" from the Start screen), and then adjust the slider under Change the size of all items. You may have to click to select the check box for Let me choose one scaling level for all my displays and then change the scale to 100 percent.

Be aware that on very high-DPI displays, this may make screen elements very small, and some text may become difficult to read.
jpenny84
 
Posts: 8291
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby wcjanse505 » Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:58 am

The same problem here. I wanted to try out Lastpass as a replacement for Roboform, but when I see in other posts that this important problem is still not resolved after nearly four months, I remain with Roboform, which respond at least faster. It's a pity, you are apparently the slowest with updates, Lastpass....... Windows 10 and 4K resolutions are there at least 1 year already.
wcjanse505
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 4:37 am

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby Joenathane » Sat Jan 09, 2016 4:37 am

I am surprised that this hasn't been fixed. If you can't get something so simple as display scaling correct how can I trust you with my password? You guys obviously don't know how to code!
Joenathane
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:26 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby FatuousJeffrey » Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:30 pm

Agreed. This is something that all modern software should handle with no problems. I don't want to have to adjust my scaling every time I come across a piece of software that was sloppily written. Definitely makes me wonder if I should trust them with my data.
FatuousJeffrey
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Can't install on high resolution screen

Postby drewd321 » Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:06 am

This needs fixed. Either make the windows resizable or make it full screen. This is why I haven't deployed to all my users yet.
drewd321
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 1:46 pm

Next

Return to Windows Installer Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests